Our Faculty

Meet the individuals who are moving the field forward.

Adelphi’s biology faculty are renowned for scholarship, as evidenced by the research published, awards granted and fellowships earned by department members. Along with our dedication to a strong instructional mission, we are committed to providing our students with a comprehensive advising program.

» Learn more about the department faculty research


Andrea Ward
Department Chair

Science Building, Room 102
p – 516.877.4204
e –

Jonna M. Coombs
Associate Department Chair

Science Building, Room 110
p – 516.877.4196
e –

Shirley Komansky
Administrative Assistant
Science Building, Room 103
p – 516.877.4028

Karen Tuitt
Administrative Assistant
Science Building, Room 103
p – 516.877.4214

Paula Zinnanti
Administrative Assistant
Science Building, Room 103
p – 516.877.4200


Deborah Cooperstein

James K. Dooley

Lawrence Hobbie

Alan R. Schoenfeld

Andrea Ward
Department Chair

Benjamin Weeks

Associate Professors

Tandra R. Chakraborty
Director of Graduate Studies

Jonna M. Coombs
Associate Chair

Matthias W. Foellmer

Aaren Freeman

Aram D. Stump


Assistant Professors

Carolyn M. Bauer

Michael D’Emic

Alexander Heyl

Eugenia Villa-Cuesta


Barbara Cunningham


Adjunct Faculty

Diane Esposito
Senior Adjunct Faculty
Raymond Mascolo
Senior Adjunct Faculty

Rakhi Agarwal

Eitan Akirav

Tamir Aldad

Michael J. Altimari

Oluwakemi Babalola

Lisa A. Dailey

Hany Fam

Cristina Fernandez-Marco

Galina Fomovska

Idit R. Forkosh

Vilma Greene

Maria Gulinello

Steven Lindner

Jesus Navarro

Ramesh K. Matcha

Shilpi Paul

Anthony J. Perrotto

John Perrotto

John Russell

Norbert Ryglewicz

Shaden Ryglewicz

Stefan Tafrov

Jack Thomas

Susan Zollo

Professors Emeritus

Algernon Churchill

Carol Diakow

Robert David Jones

George Russell

Lab Research Technical

Mica McCarty-Glenn

 Laboratory Technical Assistants

John Hunter

Rakhsim Yakubov

Apply Now
Request Information